So here's the thing: I really don't like exercising very much. In fact, I would be perfectly content with lazing around all day if there weren't negative health consequences associated with said behaviour. Sure, for the past couple of years I have gotten into the habit of running a few times a week, but it's more out of necessity than anything else (THERE - to all those who I told that I run because I like to run, I am hereby admitting that I am a liar). I like eating. I like eating chocolate and potato chips and baked goods and any and every form of carbohydrate. Eating these things are generally associated with not fitting into my pants. Needless to say, I do not want to buy new pants; I want to fit into my pants and continue to eat my carbohydrates. Moreover, I can no longer deny it: I am in my twenties and my metabolism is slowing.
The one thing that I do enjoy about my frequent runs is the time to myself, the time to think, and the time to let loose all my pent up aggression in a socially acceptable manner. Now that I'll be biking, all I can think about is how much biking is not the same as running.
Take this morning: woke up at 6am (PAINFUL), had some flax seed toast with peanut butter - good source of fibre and protein - and hit up the gym. The gym proceeded to hit me repeatedly. Biking is HARD. It uses muscles I didn't know I had. In fact, I am convinced that I do not have these muscles at all. In long-distance running, you don't really have well-developed quads. This has put me at a serious disadvantage. Forty five minutes and only eight miles later on a stationary bike, I was spent. Cross country track and resistance 18, you are a mean beast.
I know that I'm soliciting monetary donations for our team, but if anyone wants to donate their skills as a personal trainer, I am all ears. After all, I am definitely not all legs (har har har).
Monday, November 9, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
I love to eat too... I would really like to join the team and get in shape... but in the meantime... I cannot figure out how to donate :P And I thought I was good at computers...
ReplyDelete~Amy
Your training sounds so inspiring. I don't even eat breakfast when I go for my runs, I must admit =x
ReplyDeleteI run a lot and for all the same reasons you mentioned; because you can think to yourself. It's the only time I do have to myself to clear my thoughts and breathe on my own.
I got one of those Nike+ shoe sensors and put it in my shoe. It helps me track my runs on my account. I see how far of a distance I have been able to reach in a certain amount of time, as well as how many calories I've burned and so on. In a way it's my personal trainer.
Usually before I go for a run, I make sure I have my water canteen with me of all things. I assume biking may be easier on the feet and tougher on the knees.
Let me know if you need any over-the-web unofficial trainer advice =)
Janis
Hahaha, love your blog!
ReplyDeleteHey 45 min sounds uber impressive to me, sounds like u r doing awesome!! big applause for u for waking up at 6AM!!!
- Helena