As regular readers know, I am addicted to spinning. It borders on an obsession, really, as Stacey will affirm with a hefty amount of disgust. It has come to the point where no other kind of exercise will do. Treadmill? Dull. Swimming? Ruins my hair. Skating like little sis? HAHAHA. As a result, when super-duper friend and fundraiser Alyssa suggested trying out new types of exercise, I was game. We took to the computer for a little Internet research: boxing? Expensive. Kickboxing? Just as expensive. Pilates? Whoaaaaaaaaaaaa who can actually afford to do pilates? As a result, we settled on going to yoga together.
While my first yoga class was okay, I noticed a pain in my back for the rest of the week. Today, I gave it another shot after an endurance spin class. In theory, yoga + spinning sounds like the perfect combination - a chance to relax and stretch out those tense muscles and quieten the mind. After today, I am convinced that yoga is not for me. I do not doubt the benefits of it, but I'm willing to let go dreams of having a yoga body and improved flexibility. Holding tough poses, too much pressure on my palms, heavy breathing, chanting, and bare feet (bare feet gross me out) are not on my list of favourite things. Moreover, it is not recommended to practice yoga on a full stomach. This did not work out for me so well. I like to eat on the hour, every hour, and this class was an hour and a half in length. Right off the bat, you can see how problems might arise. Overall, I think I am better suited for intense cardiovascular activities with blaring music. Looks like I'll be sticking to my spinning, which is also quite mentally-consuming and spiritual in its own way. I truly believe that if I hadn't started spinning in November, I would have needed some serious therapy right now. Brain cancer is one of the most horrific things you could ever witness.
To close, can anyone recommend other fun activities to supplement my cycling training? 'Cause right now, yoga is a big no-go.
Saturday, February 20, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Let's skate! Come on! You know you want to!
ReplyDeleteBallet! Haha... just kidding. I had to :P
ReplyDeleteSkip rope? That's intense cardio.